Each Other: “Same As It Never Was”

March 5th, 2020

Words: Elice

It’s amazing what 2020 has to offer so far in terms of electronic music. Say hello to Each Other, an exciting new project between our beloved New Yorkers Justin Strauss and Max Pask. The pair’s debut EP, entitled “Be Nice To Each Other”, a finely crafted three tracker, recently dropped on Soulwax/2manydjs label, DEEWEE.

While Strauss and Pask have DJ’d together on numerous occasions, this is the first time that they’ve collaborated on a production project. Strauss is a living NY legend, adequately representing the last three decades of New York nightclub history, and as he states “What we were trying to do and what we’ve hopefully achieved was to merge our influences with a nod to what many consider to be the ‘golden age’ of New York,”. What we state is that they have successfully achieved the above and we are “dealing” with an eclectic range of sounds in the space of just three tracks. Strauss and Pask have become the city’s favorite boys with this marvelous EP.

The opener of the EP “Same As It Never Was” leads the way to a new sound era, full of musical energy. What is and feels “same” is the high quality of the music, but on the other hand we can truly sense it “as it never was”. It is fresh, innovative and is the most immediate of the set, becoming more hypnotic as the minimalist topline buries itself into your subconscious. The combination of tiny drums, soothing chords and narrative vocals alongside the overall dark atmosphere of the tune create a harmony of various sound influences. We imagine ourselves on the dancefloor dancing to this mind-bending track. Blast the track above and enjoy the ride.

Each Other’s “Be Nice To Each Other” EP is out now via DEEWEE. Get it here.

TAGS: , , ,

Best Tracks & EPs of 2019

January 6th, 2020

LAGASTA – Best Of 2019 | Tracks & EPs

Sfire – Sfire 1 (feat. Marcella) [Of Unsound Mind]

Ghost Vision – Mirador [Pinchy and Friends]

Evans Pyramid – Never Gonna Leave You (Joakim & Max Pask Mixes) [Crowdspacer]

5ive – Planet Be [Thinner Groove]

Fantastic Man – Solar Surfing [Kitjen]

Daniel Wang presents S.D.A.P. – Don’t Go Lose This [Degustibus Music]

Yu Su – Roll With The Punches [Second Circle]

The Pilotwings – Psytube [Animals Dancing]

Powder – New Tribe [Beats In Space]

Manncool & Trol2000 – Capy [Outerzona13]

Kito Jempere – FKA Lany/ Drakon [Duca Bianco]
Pender Street Steppers – Our Time [Mood Hut]
Apiento – Things You Do For Love [World Building]
Octo Octa – For Lovers [Technicolour]
Bézier – 府城 [Honey Soundsystem]
Tendts – Cosmic Dancer [Public Release]
Off The Meds – Belter [Studio Barnhus]
Davis – Ordinary Sleep [Robert Johnson]
Leonid Lipelis – Bordeaux Lovin – [Public Possession]
Jex Opolis – Earth Boy [Dekmantel]
Cable Toy – Doktorhaus [Low Budget Family]
TERR – Tale Of Devotion (Prins Thomas Remix) [Phantasy]
Four Tet – Teenage Birdsong [Text Records]
Chaos In The CBD – Come Together [In Dust We Trust]
Tjade – Koi Jaye [Bordello A Parigi]

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spencerpask: “Way Too Long”

December 2nd, 2011

If “I‘m a Cliché” were a home, “Fit” would be the guest room. Cosmo Vitelli’s very own label I’m a Cliché has decided to start a new series called “Fit”. The first volume gathers four dance tracks made by different people based in various countries: Hardway Bros’ track “A Diabolical Liberty”, Naum Gabo’s (the studio project of Jonnie Wilkes) “Iris”, and Booze’s “Side Effect”. There’s one more: Liv Spencer (Still Going) and Max Pask (Populette), join forces under the moniker of Spencerpask to create a powerful tune called “Way Too Long” – perfect for a long night drive on a lost highway. Let’s drive…

Spencerpask – Way Too Long

“Fit Vol. 1” drops on December 5th.
Preview the full release here. Buy here.

TAGS: , , , , , , , ,

Favorite Remixes of 2009

December 23rd, 2009

Phoenix: “Lisztomania” [Classixx Remix]
Sebastien Tellier: “Kilometer” [Aeroplane Italo 84 Remix]
Curses!: “The Deep End” [Holy Ghost! Remix]
The Lowbrows: “Dream In The Desert”
Florence And The Machine: “Rabbit Heart” [Leo Zero Remix]
The Units: “High Pressure Days” [Rory Phillips Remix]
Detachments: “Circles” [Mighty Mouse Remix]
Wax Stag: “And How” [Bottin’s Discoursive Diversion]
Crystal Fighters: “Xtatic Truth” [Renaissance Man Remix]
zZz:”Lion” [Bag Raiders Remix]
Passion Pit: “To Kingdom Come” [Artwork Remix]
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart: “Higher Than The Stars” [Saint Etienne Visits Lord Spank Remix]
Fever Ray: “Triangle Walks” [Rex The Dog Remix]
Priors: “What You Need” [Hey Champ Remix]
Memory Cassette: “Last One Awake” [CFCF Remix]
Florence and the Machine: “You’ve Got the Love” [The xx Rework]
Empire Of The Sun: “We Are The People” [Shazam Remix]
Mayer Hawthorne: “Green Eyed Love” [Classixx Remix]
Jonathan Jeremiah: “Happiness” [Quiet Village Remix]
Moby: “Mistake” [Lifelike Remix]
DJ Kaos: “Love The Nite Away” [Tiedye Mix]
WhoMadeWho: “Keep Me In My Plane” [Max Pask Remix]
Metronomy: “Not Made For Love” [Astronomer Remix]
Erol Alkan & Boys Noize: “Waves” [Chilly Gonzales Piano Remake]
Bot’Ox: “Rue de l’Aresnal” [Yuksek Remix]

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,