Cut Copy: “Cold Water”

Cut Copy: “Cold Water”

After dropping “Love Is All We Share” back in May, Melbourne’s Cut Copy have shared their superb new single “Cold Water”. Arriving alongside the track is the announcement of the four-piece’s sixth studio album “Freeze, Melt”, the follow-up to their incredible 2017 album “Haiku From Zero”, which will drop on August 21 via Cutters Records/The Orchard.

Speaking about “Cold Water”, frontman Dan Whitford says: “After extensive touring on our last album, ‘Cold Water’ was one of the first new songs to appear. I’d moved to Copenhagen and had been listening to a lot more ambient and instrumental electronic music and as a result ‘Cold Water’ felt quite different to songs we’d made in the past. It was less dance, but more atmospheric. Also the subject matter explores love in today’s context, where the climate and fate of the planet are becoming increasingly uncertain. Once we’d finished it, it felt like we’d placed a marker in the ground, guiding us in a new musical direction.”

Video by Takeshi Murata and Christopher Rutledge.

Pre-order the album “Freeze, Melt” here.


This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!