The Crystal Ark: “Rain (XXXTended Version)” Video

October 25th, 2013

The Crystal Ark, the brainchild of DFA’s Gavin Russom and Viva Ruiz, have shared this cool video for the extended version of “Rain”, one of the standout tunes from last year’s great self-titled LP on DFA. The video was created by NYC multimedia performance collective Big Art Group (Caden Manson and Jemma Nelson). Peep the clip above, and grab the “XXXTended version” of “Rain” for free below.

Download here

TAGS: , , , , ,

The Crystal Ark: “We Came To” Video

November 19th, 2012

Check out the official video for Gavin Russom’s The Crystal Ark latest single “We Came To”, off their self-titled debut album, out now on DFA. It’s easily one of the strangest videos we’ve seen in a while. Below, you can stream one of our favorite cuts from the LP, “Rhodes”. Buy the album here.

Directed by Viva Ruiz.

TAGS: , , , ,

Gas Around The Web #19

May 1st, 2011

La.Ga.Sta.’s ride all over the internet. Fill it up!

Sunday Radio: Lazy Sundays with Lazydisco, aka Fred Oliveira. A few Sundays a year Lazydisco is streaming music over the internet – sometimes, guests might do it instead. Check it out here. His new “More Tigers” remix EP, out soon on Discotexas.

Made In Bed: Toro Y Moi put out a lovely 37-minute mix for Modular’s Modcast series. It features songs from Ennio Morricone, King Tubby, Connan Mockasin, Piero Piccioni, and more. He made this in bed, just for you. Grab it here.

Live: The Vinyl Factory presents Tensnake Live +. Limited to 1,000 copies worldwide, it features a CD with a 60-minute live performance and an EP printed on 180-gram vinyl with two exclusive new Tensnake tracks. More info here.

Remix: Brooklyn’s Yeasayer remixes Moby’s latest single “The Day” , off his new album “Destroyed”. You can download it for free here.

New Release: Horse Meat Disco will release the third instalment in their essential compilation series on July 4th via Strut. Featuring tracks from Todd Terje, Ron Hardy, Dimitri From Paris, and more. Check it out here.

Festival: Calvi On The Rocks has announced their 2011 lineup which includes Foals, Metronomy, Laurent Garnier présente L.B.S., Hercules & Love Affair, Discodeine, Bot’Ox, Nicolas Jaar, Brodinski, and more. Watch the teaser here.

Preview: Neon Indian is preparing to release his second album this fall. The first taste of the album comes in the form of the short video shot in Helsinki. Take a peak at “Heart: Attack” here.

mpFree: DFA’s Gavin Russom nine-minute take on Cut Copy’s latest single “Need You Now” is now available as a free download. Grab it now.

Mixtape: Rex The Dog has dropped his first ever mixtape full of Swedish and Norwegian pop. Listen/download the mixtape “Here We Go Scando” now.

Session: Little Dragon performs “Little Man”, off their forthcoming album “Ritual Union”, at Different Fur Studios for Yours Truly. Watch it below:

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Pional: ‘We Have Been Waiting For You’

January 18th, 2011
mpFree, News

Pional – We’ve been waiting for you (Original Mix) by Pional

Madrid-based producer Miguel Barros, aka Pional, doesn’t sound like anyone else and neither does he want to. His new single ‘We Have Been Waiting For You’ just released through John Talabot’s Hivern Discs label with remixes by Gavin Russom under his Crystal Ark alias and Blue Daisy. This tune has been on repeat in our car stereo. In one word: Brilliant!

Buy your copy here


Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Pional: ‘In Midnight Sleep’ [mp3]

TAGS: , , , , , ,