Cassius: “Go Up” (feat. Cat Power & Pharrell Williams) Video

April 10th, 2017

French house veterans Cassius have shared a cool new video for their infectious single “Go Up”, featuring vocals from Cat Power and Pharrell Williams. The track is taken from the pair’s recent album “Ibifornia”, out now via Polydor/Interscope Records. Get it here.

Directed by Alexandre Courtès.

Cassius: “Feel Like Me” (feat. Cat Power)

TAGS: , , ,

Cassius: “Feel Like Me” (feat. Cat Power)

July 22nd, 2016

French house veterans Cassius are about a month away from dropping their guest-filled album “Ibifornia”, their first record in ten years. Today, we’re treated to the soulful slow-burner “Feel Like Me”, a brilliant track featuring vocals from Cat Power’s Chan Marshall. This is the third Cat Power collaboration from the album. We’ve already heard her collaborations with Beastie Boys‘ Mike D on “Action” and Pharrell Williams on “Go Up”. Just in case you missed it, watch the interactive video for their latest single “The Missing” here.

Cassius’ album “Ibifornia” drops on August 26th via Interscope/Polydor. Pre-order it here.

Cassius: “Ibifornia”


Cassius: “Go Up” (feat. Cat Power & Pharrell Williams)

April 1st, 2016

After dropping their surprise single “Action”, featuring Cat Power and Beastie Boys’ Mike D, last month, French house veterans Cassius have announced their first album in ten years, “Ibifornia”, set to drop on June 24th via Polydor/Interscope Records. The new record, the follow-up to 2006’s “15 Again”, features an all-star cast of long-term collaborators and friends, including Pharrell Williams, John Gourley of Portugal. The Man, Jaw, and Ryan Tedder. A portmanteau of Ibiza and California, “Ibifornia” is an imaginary utopia which, they say, is “inside every one of us.” The infectious track “Go Up”, featuring Cat Power and Pharrell Williams, is another taste of what’s to come. Press play.

Pre-order it here.

Cassius: “The Sound Of Violence” [Aeroplane Remix]

TAGS: , ,

Cassius: “Action” (feat. Cat Power & Mike D)

March 11th, 2016

It’s been a long, long time coming, but French electronic duo Cassius are finally back with their great new single “Action”, a “family affair”, which features vocals from Beastie Boys‘ Mike D and Cat Power. Recorded in New York, the track is a fusion of disco, house, Afrobeat and insistent pop hooks. It marks the first offering from the duo of Philippe Zdar and Boom Bass since 2006’s album “15 Again”. “Action” will appear on their upcoming new album, set to drop later this year. Give it a spin above, and get into the groove.

Update: Below, you can watch the weird video for “Action”, directed by Yuri Ancarani.

The single “Action” is out now via Interscope/Polydor Records. Buy it here.

Cassius: “The Sound Of Violence” [Aeroplane Remix]

TAGS: , , ,

La.Ga.Sta.’s Top 40 Downloaded Tracks of 2012

December 28th, 2012
mpFree, News

[Artwork: Yannis Dragasakis]

Once more during this year we have been sharing with you tons of free music, and today we’re really excited to reveal La.Ga.Sta.’s Top 40 most downloaded tracks of 2012. This is a chart compiled by our readers, who by the way have great taste. We couldn’t agree more. Breakbot’s “Programme” is top of the list, followed closely by Perseus’ “Seychelles” and Chromatics’ “Kill For Love”. Of course there is more to this list. Who can drive passed beloved artists such as Todd Terje, John Talabot, Poolside, The Magician, Classixx, Moon Boots, among others, or tracks like Slow Hands’ cover of Bon Iver’s “Towers” and Pional’s remix of The Rapture’s “In The Grace Of Your Love”.
It’s been an amazing year vroomers, and this is the list that proves it. Here’s your chance to revisit 2012’s most popular mpFrees. Fill it up (once again) and stay gas all the way to 2013. Enjoy!

01. Breakbot: “Programme”
02. Perseus: “Seychelles”
03. Chromatics: “Kill For Love”
04. Lindstrøm: “Rà-àkõ-st” [Todd Terje Extended Edit]
05. Poolside: “Slow Down”
06. Moon Boots: “Sugar”
07. Lana Del Rey: “Blue Jeans” [Moonlight Matters Remix]
08. Sébastien Tellier: “Cochon Ville” [The Magician Remix]
09. John Talabot & Pional: “Braves”
10. Gossip: “Move In The Right Direction” [Classixx Remix]

11. Jessie Ware: “Night Light” [Perseus Remix]
12. Bloc Party: “Octopus” [RAC Remix]
13. Goldroom: “Fifteen” [feat. Chela]
14. Little Boots: “Every Night I Say A Prayer” [Tensnake Remix]
15. Erika Spring: “Happy At Your Gate” [Aeroplane Remix]
16. Van She: “Jamaica” [Plastic Plates Remix]
17. Bon Iver: “Towers” [Slow Hands Cover]
18. Santigold: “The Keepers” [Duke Dumont Remix]
19. Jonas Rathsman: “Since I Don’t Have You”
20. Giselle: “Silk” [Cosmic Kids Remix]

21. Cat Power: “Cherokee” [Nicolas Jaar Remix]
22. Miike Snow: “The Wave” [Flight Facilities Mix]
23. Ladyhawke: “Sunday Drive” [Gigamesh Remix]
24. Aeroplane: “Caramellas” [Joakim Dub]
25. RAC: “Hollywood” [feat. Penguin Prison]
26. The Rapture: “In The Grace Of Your Love’ [Pional Remix]
27. Gypsy & The Cat: “Bloom”
28. Jupiter: “One O Six” [A.N.D.Y. Remix]
29. PillowTalk: “Sunny”
30. Tame Impala: “Apocalypse Dreams”

31. Todd Terje: “Swing Star Pt. 1”
32. Van She: “Idea Of Happiness” [SebastiAn Remix]
33. Isaac Tichauer: “Doing What I Got”
34. Bondax: “Baby I Got That” [Justin Martin’s Endless Summer Remix]
35. Julio Bashmore: “Troglodytes”
36. Tycho: “A Walk” [Kolombo Remix]
37. Simian Mobile Disco: “Seraphim”
38. Twin Shadow: “Five Seconds”
39. Midnight Magic: “Same Way I Feel”
40. Purity Ring: “Obedear”

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

La.Ga.Sta. Top 15 August 2012

September 3rd, 2012

[Artwork: Yannis Dragasakis]

Hey vrooomers, it’s time to round up the Top 15 most downloaded tracks from the past 31 days or so on La.Ga.Sta. Check out the full list below, and relive the magic of August’s most popular mpFree’s. This is your Top 15 chart. Speed it up!

01. Jonas Rathsman: “Since I Don’t Have You”
02. Lindstrøm: “Rà-àkõ-st” [Todd Terje Extended Edit]
03. Erika Spring: “Happy At Your Gate” [Aeroplane Remix]
04. Cat Power: “Cherokee” [Nicolas Jaar Remix]
05. Bondax: “Baby I Got That” [Justin Martin’s Endless Summer Remix]
06. Slow Hands: “Rhabarbarum”
07. Satellite Stories: “Sirens” [Slow Magic Remix]
08. Beacon: “Feeling’s Gone”
09. Theme Park: “Jamaica” [Gigamesh Remix]
10. Alison Valentine: “Peanut Butter” [Moon Boots Remix]
11. Com Truise: “Chemical Legs”
12. Chris Malinchak: “If U Got It”
13. Ultimate Kaos: “Casanova” [Mickey Rework]
14. The Sound Of Arrows: “Conquest” [Fort Romeau’s Baleric Sunset Mix]
15. Saint Lou Lou: “Maybe You” [Lauer Remix]

TAGS: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Cat Power: “Cherokee (Nicolas Jaar Remix)”

August 7th, 2012

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Cat Power: “Cherokee” [Nicolas Jaar Remix]

Cat Power’s new full-length “Sun”, the first album of original material since 2006’s “The Greatest”, will be released September 3 through Matador and now the album opener “Cherokee” gets the remix treatment by Nicolas Jaar. Grab this dreamy rework of “Cherokee” for free below and drive slow.

Download here for the price of an e-mail.

TAGS: , , ,